Microsoft Security Essentials Fails Test – Short Analysis Of Results

Recently Microsoft Security Essentials, the antivirus provided by Microsoft and installed by default on Windows 8, failed to gain certification from AV-TEST, an organization that tests AV software based on specific criteria.

MSE got a 1.5/6.0 for protection, 3.5/6.0 for repair, and 5.5/6.0 for usability

In terms of protection, it seems to do really poorly. It actually does alright, but it’s 0day protection is terribly low – enough to pull the entire score down quite a lot.

But as you can see from other AVs, the higher the rate of 0day detection the higher the performance hit and the higher the number of false positives. Why? Because the heuristics engines run longer and are much more sensitive.

So it’s obvious that Microsoft is prioritizing removal and usability far above 0day detection. They absolutely excel in low false positives, whereas the highest rated AVs have quite a large number by comparison.

So what about 0day malware? Well, on Windows 8 where MSE is installed by default there’s a system wide SmartScreen, Microsoft’s reputation based filter for detecting 0day malware. Clearly they’re separating the security into components – MSE for removal and detection of known malware, and SmartScreen for detection of 0day malware.

So take the entire score into consideration, take the entire system into consideration, before deciding whether MSE is worth using..

Source:

http://www.av-test.org/en/tests/home-user/windows-7/sepoct-2012/

Tags: ,

About insanitybit

Novice programmer interested in computer security. I'll use this blog when I'm bored to post about things I find interesting in that field.

10 responses to “Microsoft Security Essentials Fails Test – Short Analysis Of Results”

  1. perknh says :

    How would Windows Defender in Windows 8 be with EMET installed. This would make all the difference in the world wouldn’t it? I’m assuming Windows Defender in Windows 8 is really MSE rebranded.

    perknh

    • insanitybit says :

      EMET doesn’t do anything to detect malware, so it wouldn’t change these results. It would make local and remote exploitation more difficult, so it might prevent the payloads from landing to begin with, but that’s all.

      Windows Defender is MSE on Windows 8, yes.

      • perknh says :

        If you had just purchased Windows 8, and you were using Windows 8’s Windows Defender, would you look for another AV? Or would you be comfortable with Windows Defender as your own personal AV?

        I suspect Windows Defender (MSE) will try to get better after learning about AV — Test’s scathing review.

        I have tried Panda, and Avira before, but, although it is light, I keep losing my Internet connection with Panda, and I find Avira hard to configure, and a real nuisance. As for Avast, it has slowed my system down to a crawl — although that was years ago.

        MSE is the most user friendly AV I’ve ever found. And it is pretty light on system resources too.

        And other thoughts on this matter?

      • insanitybit says :

        If I were to use an AV it would be MSE. I don’t use one though.

  2. perknh says :

    Then I’ll leave well enough alone.

    Thank you.

  3. win8 user says :

    Add to it that recent nss lab tests show IE blocked about 99% of malware downloads. MSE is not meant to be used as comprehensive security suite.

    • insanitybit says :

      Yep. I think people are used to Windows needing a full suite of professional AV software to cover the bases… but Windows 8 introduces multiple separate components for security, MSE is only one part.

      • perknh says :

        I got used to using Chrome browser years ago, Win8 has reported that IE blocks nearly 99% of malware. Would I be just about as safe with Chrome browser as IE 10. I admit I’m not very fond on IE, but would my computer be safer using it than using Chrome?

        Your opinion in these matters is much more expert than mine.

        MSE is the lightest AV I’ve ever used. I’d hate to get rid of it.

        Thank you.

        pernh

      • insanitybit says :

        If you’re using Windows 8 you’ll benefit from SmartScreen regardless of your browser. Chrome has its own separate malware protection based on the SafeBrowsing API. I’d say you’re just as safe with Chrome.

  4. perknh says :

    Then, again I’ll leave well enough alone.

    I hope MSE will take the AV- TEST results as a wake up call. In just these few days since this report became public, there has been an AV feeding frenzy trying to quickly capitalize on MSE’s poor performance because of AV-TEST’s test results.

    I like MSE a lot, but I did increase the security on my modem’s hardware firewall just in case I am being too naive in this matter. I still believe nobody can protect Windows better than Windows can protect itself.

    Thanks again.

    perknh

Leave a comment